Worcestershire v Derbyshire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1985
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 6th, 8th, 9th July 1985 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultDerbyshire won by 3 wickets
PointsWorcestershire 7 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Derbyshire 22 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresB Dudleston, DO Oslear
ScorersJW Sewter (Worcestershire), SW Tacey (Derbyshire)
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 55/1 (Anderson 22*, Maher 5*)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 183/3 (Neale 71*, Weston 14*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Curtislbw b Finney2267624- 
DB D'Oliveiralbw b Finney6316819161 
*PA Nealec Maher b Warner461001703- 
DN Patelc Anderson b Miller8811113615- 
Kapil Devb Finney1614224- 
MJ Westonlbw b Finney021-- 
+SJ Rhodesc Miller b Finney057-- 
PJ Newportlbw b Finney022-- 
NV Radfordc Roberts b Warner3853597- 
RK Illingworthc Miller b Warner136-- 
SM McEwannot out0310-- 
Extras(4 b, 10 lb, 7 nb)21
Total(all out, 305 minutes, 86.5 overs)295
Fall of wickets:
1-38 (Curtis), 2-142 (Neale), 3-149 (D'Oliveira), 4-179 (Kapil Dev), 5-179 (Weston), 6-179 (Rhodes), 7-179 (Newport), 8-271 (Radford), 9-285 (Illingworth), 10-295 (Patel, 86.5 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Warner19   3883-4
Finney22   4626-2
Newman15   5370-1
Russell16   4610--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*KJ Barnettb McEwan2776683- 
IS Andersonc Rhodes b Kapil Dev36751182- 
+BJM Maherc Patel b Kapil Dev924171- 
JG Wrightlbw b Kapil Dev722221- 
B Robertsc Curtis b Radford0711-- 
R Sharmalbw b Radford35931263- 
G Millerc Rhodes b Radford61416-- 
PG Newmanc Patel b McEwan2123263- 
AE Warnerlbw b Kapil Dev50606942 
RJ Finneyb Radford42829-- 
PE Russellnot out31319-- 
Extras(9 lb, 7 nb)16
Total(all out, 265 minutes, 71 overs)214
Fall of wickets:
1-48 (Barnett), 2-60 (Maher), 3-76 (Wright), 4-81 (Anderson), 5-81 (Roberts), 6-92 (Miller), 7-121 (Newman), 8-202 (Warner), 9-203 (Sharma), 10-214 (Finney, 71 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kapil Dev26   9564--
Radford24   3784-6
McEwan10   3292--
Newport6   0330-1
Illingworth3   150--
Patel2   140--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Curtisb Finney1038571- 
DB D'Oliveiralbw b Newman34951123- 
*PA Nealec Warner b Russell10218521016- 
DN Patelb Miller4346675- 
MJ Westonc Barnett b Russell4796796- 
Kapil Devnot out397-- 
+SJ Rhodesdid not bat      
PJ Newportdid not bat      
NV Radforddid not bat      
RK Illingworthdid not bat      
SM McEwandid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 9 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)14
Total(5 wickets, declared, 268 minutes, 76.4 overs)253
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Curtis), 2-65 (D'Oliveira), 3-147 (Patel), 4-247 (Weston), 5-253 (Neale, 76.4 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Warner16   258011
Finney15   4381-1
Newman19   3721--
Miller10   14111-

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*KJ Barnettc Radford b McEwan2942465- 
IS Andersonc Rhodes b Illingworth9419123515- 
JG Wrightc and b Illingworth11718820118- 
B Robertsb Illingworth30374111 
R Sharmab Illingworth8881- 
G Millernot out2429443- 
PG Newmanlbw b Kapil Dev1015191- 
AE Warnerc Radford b Kapil Dev011-- 
RJ Finneynot out6321- 
+BJM Maherdid not bat      
PE Russelldid not bat      
Extras(9 lb, 8 nb, 1 w)18
Total(7 wickets, 302 minutes, 84.4 overs)336
Fall of wickets:
1-51 (Barnett), 2-244 (Anderson), 3-259 (Wright), 4-273 (Sharma), 5-304 (Roberts), 6-326 (Newman), 7-326 (Warner)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kapil Dev13   35121-
Radford17   3730-7
McEwan7   2261--
Newport7   3160--
Patel23   3850-1

--> SM McEwan made his debut in County Championship matches
--> DB D'Oliveira (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 24
--> R Sharma (1) passed his previous highest score of 26 in County Championship matches
--> R Sharma (1) passed his previous highest score of 26 in First-Class matches
--> KJ Barnett (2) passed 6000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 8
--> RK Illingworth reached 150 wickets in First-Class matches when he dismissed R Sharma, his 3rd wicket in the Derbyshire second innings

This page created by the CricketArchive Oracles